Guest Reviews

Bungalow Reviews

Reservations from $99/Night

Learn More | Book Now

 

Exceptional
Chef Ellard, the Culinary Edge TV – 05/23/2018
Our stay in the Bungalow was exceptional. The neighborhood is amazing, the house is a jewel, and Henry is the perfect host. Erehwon Retreat is style, history, comfort, and kindness all in one. Highly recommend it.

 

Little Piece of History
Tiffany, Miami FL – 03/10/2018
This bungalow is absolutely beautiful and in great shape. I really appreciated all the attention to detail Henry put into restoring this little piece of history. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well-stocked and everything was really clean. The neighborhood is adorable and felt really safe. We went to the ramen place up the street and it was seriously the best we’ve ever had. There are many other awesome restaurants in the area, a few were in walking distance. There was a really cute coffee shop in a converted house just about half a block away. All in all it was a great trip and I hope to come back and stay in this beautiful bungalow again!

 

A little oasis!
Gill G – 03/05/2018
A thoughtfully prepared, stylishly furnished and decorated bungalow offering comfortable accommodation. Henry’s extras made it more like home. We appreciated the food supplies, toiletries, DVD collection and useful tips supplied by our friendly host and enjoyed sitting out on the adjoining deck and front porch. A relaxing stay.

 

Henry is a superb host and the Bungalow is a gem.
Rosemary and Doug – 03/04/2018
We marveled at the harmonious color scheme and choices in furniture. Everywhere you look, your eye falls on something interesting and beautiful. And if you’re lonely or want entertainment, just ask Henry about his life in New York fundraising for the Brooklyn Academy or Music or rescuing the Joffrey Ballet from bankruptcy. Being here was such a pleasure!

 

Exceptional
Teresa K – 02/04/2018
Great period bungalow with excellent decorative touches around the home. Henry is very detailed oriented including maps of plants around the home. He is full of knowledge of area sites, restaurants and places to visit.

 

A Magical Place
Hana, Jindrich, Sophie, and Julie – 07/09/2017
The Bungalow was an amazing experience for us, it’s a magical place.We had a great time and we felt very comfortable here.Thank you for all the tips for trips, especially helpful as we came to you from the Czech Republic. We will post pictures on your website when we get home.

 

Like Home
Judy and Rodger – 7/9/2017
This was our first stay, a six week stay, at Henry’s Erehwon Retreat bungalow. My wife was having chemo-radiation treatments at The Moffitt Cancer Center and we wanted a place that would be more like home, safe, and away from the hustle bustle. Henry’s bungalow seemed to be what we were looking for and as it turned out it was. The bungalow was 15 minutes to the cancer center and downtown, as well as within minutes to route 275. The bungalow was cozy, warmly decorated, clean, and Henry was very hospitable. He met us there the first day to show us through the bungalow and explain some of the history of the house. After he left we were pleasantly surprised to find the refrigerator was populated with orange juice, milk, and other items. The cabinets were filled with spices, oils, and vinegar for your use. The best was the chocolate beside each bed. The neighborhood is in a Tampa historic district and we found the neighborhood to be friendly and safe for going on walks. Sitting on the porch, reminded us of our younger days at home – when people sat on the porch and neighbors walked by and visited. Henry provided a binder full of information about the area, things to do, and places of interest. We appreciated that they provide housekeeping, that was something we didn’t have to worry about while taking treatments. Henry is very responsive to any and all questions – a text is answered within minutes and he is usually there. This was the perfect comfortable place for our stay. Thanks again Henry!

 

Met our Needs and More
Edward – 5/7/2017
We spent the entire month of April at Erehwon Retreat. Since it was quite a length of stay, we wanted a place that was comfortable and convenient to areas around Tampa. Since our youngest son and family live in Tampa, we were about 10-15 mins. from them. Erehwon Retreat met our needs and more. It is a lovely house and had the conveniences we needed to live comfortably. The kitchen was well stocked with all the appliances one needs to prepare meals, if needed. The beds were most comfortable and afforded a wonderful night’s sleep. The front porch with the swing and chairs was always an option when trying to find a place to read or just watch the world go by. The back patio was a nice place to sit and enjoy the breeze among the big camphor trees. Thomas, the cat, would show up often to receive a little attention or just sit and enjoy the breeze, as well. We couldn’t have asked for a more caring and helpful owner than Henry. He was very interested in providing for our every need. The house received light cleaning and changing of towels every third day – and the bed linens were changed weekly. We were most impressed with the quality of the towels and linens. Henry was most valuable in providing information as well as sharing about his travels and past work. We always enjoyed our conversations with him. Hopefully, we can return to Erehwon Retreat in the future. We know it will be lovingly taken care of and offer many travelers a home away-from home.

 

Beautiful, Clean, Convenient
Michelle – 3/15/17
We had a wonderful stay at the Erehwon Retreat. The bungalow was as pictured, a beautiful bungalow. It was clean and the kitchen was stocked with basic necessities which was very nice. It was located convenient to many attractions especially Steinbrenner Field and was in a nice neighborhood. The owner was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and attractions. I would definitely recommend this rental to everyone and also the price was reasonable. We will definitely stay again whenever we come to Tampa.

Cottage Reviews

Reservations from $55/Night

Learn More | Book Now

 

Attention to Detail
Veronica R – 12/28/2017
Henry is the penultimate host with the most charming, centrally located cottage in Tampa. Fantastic local breweries and restaurants close by and easy access to freeways. The attention to detail and welcoming package of a kitchen pre-stocked with breakfast items was the icing on the cake.
 
 
Lovely, and Lots to DO
Nora B – 11/18/2017
Thank You SO much.I had an Amazing TimeBeautiful little cottage and Henry is an amazing host! The area is lovely, and there is lots to do. Henry was super helpful with suggesting places to go/things to do. I felt right at home 🙂

 

Super clean. Great amenities. Close to everything. Fabulous!
Nancy – 11/5/17
Our host was exemplary – super knowledgeable about the area, great recommendations for dining and things to do. We were also property hunting and he gave us great insights into the area. Would highly recommend and return in a heartbeat!!

 

An Absolute Dream
Mary – 03/16/2017
Henry’s cottage was an absolute dream. It was exactly what we were looking for – central, cozy, and stocked with everything we could possibly need or want. The cottage looked exactly like the photographs, it’s a very cute, historical space and we immediately felt at home. Henry was a wonderful host and was chalk full of recommendations and suggestions for restaurants and activities in the area. Take him up on his suggestions, he knows what he’s talking about! Thanks for the great stay, Henry!

 

Excellent
Ben – 12/12/2016
“Henry war ein hervorragender Gastgeber, freundlich und Hilfsbereit. Konnte uns eine menge über Tampa erzählen und gab uns viele nützliche Tipps mit auf den Weg. Die Unterkunft war sauber und mit allem ausgestattet was man braucht. Thanks Henry 🙂 “
Henry was an excellent host, friendly and helpful. Could tell us a lot about Tampa and gave us many useful tips along the way. The accommodation was clean and equipped with everything you need. Thanks Henry 🙂 

 

Peaceful Urban Retreat 
Liz – 10/27/2016
It’s hard to know where to begin with the superlatives regarding Henry’s perfect gem of a cottage in Tampa. The place is very much as pictured: thoughtfully decorated, well-equipped, in a charming neighborhood of ’20s bungalows. What the photos online don’t fully convey is all the small extras that make staying here like a trip to visit a good friend. Henry not only provides far more than the average kitchen supplies (fresh milk and oj, spices, teas, coffee, etc. etc.) but has gone the extra mile in thinking about other supplies you might have forgotten – like bug spray or nail polish remover! The bed is comfortable, bathroom is small but perfectly thought out and the shower has better water pressure than mine at home. And the selection of movies was so eclectic and wonderful my friend and I interrupted our marathon talk-fest to watch one we couldn’t resist. Our only regret was not being in Tampa long enough to take full advantage of the wealth of local info our thoughtful host provided – in the form of hiking, boating, biking guides, maps to local and not-so-local attractions, and a patient willingness to be grilled for more advice any time. Henry is a perfect host and we couldn’t have enjoyed our stay more.

 

Cute
Suzanne – 8/08/2016
Henry was so great and the house was so cute and cozy! I loved it! He even had amenities in the house like orange juice, milk, popcorn, and condiments! It was definitely amazing and the bed was SO comfortable. Henry even had really luscious robes and slippers for lounging. If you want a cute spot in the middle of up and coming Seminole heights, stay here!

 

Great Cottage
Candi – 6/28/2016
Erehwon was such a great little cottage! It had everything we needed and the location was beautiful. Henry was a fantastic host and very thoughtful. He even came over and let us know when there were 4 falcons in his tree so we could take some photos. We will definitely stay with Henry again if we find ourselves back in Tampa!